Best News & Current Affairs Blog (2011 & 2012) and Jamaican Blogger of the Year (2011) at The Jamaica Blog Awards.

A JA Girl Exposed : In Her Own Words.


Image

A relationship should be based on trust. We often hear how important this concept is to a successful relationship. Usually that trust leads you to feel secure enough to discuss anything, explore anything that will allow you to add ‘spice’ to the relationship, and this often includes sending explicit pictures. However, this practice intended to be an intimate act between lovers has been turned into a public spectacle, intended to extort and embarrass Jamaican females. This gave birth to the website JA Girls Exposed. One of my followers on Twitter has found herself “exposed”, pictures she sent to a guy she was dating posted on a website for all the world to see. By all accounts, she is popular on Twitter, a stunning young lady, comfortable with her body and her sexuality. She wants you to hear her side of the story, to tell you about her personal anguish and sense of betrayal. We will call her VC. Here she is, in her own words.

VC : I was having this conversation with someone and they were saying people expect me to talk about it (the website and her pics) and I don’t seem to be doing anything about it. Well I have a few things to say.

Q : Do you want me to use your name?

VC : I’m not too sure I want to use my name yet, only because of my boyfriend, but I wanna ensure people get exactly how the story went and how betrayed I felt and how the “administration” was extorting me.

Q : Do you know who sent in the pics?

VC : A few pics on there was sent to one specific person. The rest they hacked into my account and took. I was locked out of my msn account for 3 weeks.

Q : Why did you send the pics to that ‘specific person’?

VC : I was dating him, figured it would be fine.

Q : Tell me about the extortion.

VC : A person called me claiming to be the administrator of the site stating that he wanted 20 grand in two days or else more exposed pics and videos would be put up of me. I would be the next feature on the site, that was week before last Saturday morning. I reported everything Sunday to the organised crime division, made a statement and then went back on monday to sign and review my statement.

Q : So they contacted you for the money before putting up the pics?

VC : There were pics of me on the site already, yes. Pics that were posted on the site already including some new ones(normal ones of me that I had on my FB or I would post on my BBM)

Q : You spoke to the dude who you had personally sent some of the pics to?

VC : I no longer talk to this person, I have no contact number for him.

Q : Did your friends mock you? Or were they supportive?

VC : Friends is such a loose word… sigh. My real friends didn’t mock me. The people who follow me on Twitter did though. I saw everything that was said about me. Even though I wasn’t tweeting my Twitter was open, I saw everything.

Q : How did your boyfriend react?

VC : I think he was disappointed. He hasn’t been on the site. I asked him not to and so we are fine. I was mainly scared to lose my relationship with my boyfriend because of this so it took me a few days to tell him about everything.

Q : Tell me about your feelings of betrayal.

VC : I felt betrayed because some people I called my friends where laughing at me and also said they knew that was going to happen to me and that made me sad for four days straight. I would just randomly burst into tears because it was on my mind heavily. I was extremely emotional and depressed.

Q : Do you feel people have been hypocrites about this sending pics thing? If yes, why?

VC : Yes, because I’m sure those who are being hypocrites have sent pics already, they just haven’t been caught or “exposed”.

Q : What do you think about the women who support the “exposing” of other women?

VC : It seems rather ridiculous to  me .. Its just how women are though. They want to see others fall.

Q : What would you say to the admin of the site and guys who keep posting the pics to Twitter/FB?

VC : I would say, no one deserves this..I wouldn’t wish it on anybody ..it’s not a joke, it’s my life. I don’t appreciate how  people have been judging me based off the pics and videos that was posted of me .

Q : Do you think you’ll ever send another nude pic in a relationship?

VC : I’m scarred from this situation, I highly doubt that I will, or even take one of myself

Q : What would you say to girls considering sending nude pics?

VC : They should think before they do, some men are not to be trusted with things like that. Some men are not mature enough.

NB : The website in question has since been taken down.
———————

Personally, I’m saddened by this website. It only demonstrates a larger problem of the value we place on our women. It is reprehensible that a man would betray a woman’s trust in that way. I’m not going to even attack the creators of the website, I’m going to take issue with those of us who sent these pictures to Facebook and Twitter, and who turn it into a public spectacle. Most of us have sent a nude pic, consider if it was your life being ruined and destroyed, how would you feel? Every time you move to repost or share one of those pictures or that website address, consider if your sister, mother or aunt was on that site? Where is your respect for women? This is somebody’s life. All those girls have a life, and you are contributing to wrecking her life and reputation. In my estimation, you are just as bad as the creators of the site and just as bad as the person who violated her trust and confidence. Food for thought.

12 responses

  1. Pied Piper of Hamelin

    Paying the 20grand wasn’t an option? My friend paid 40 grand in April and has not regretted it since

    August 20, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    • Why should she give into extortion?

      August 20, 2012 at 9:05 pm

      • Pied Piper of Hamelin

        To avoid embarrassment… Why not give into it? Would she also “not give into extortion” if they had asked her for one thousand dollars? If she couldn’t afford to fine, but this “extortion” label is way better than all of Jamaica staring into your inner parts.

        August 20, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      • Giving them the money is only going to encourage them to target other girls and try to get money from them.

        August 20, 2012 at 9:29 pm

      • Pied Piper of Hamelin

        I hate criminals.. Hate the people behind the site! But we must face the consequences when we try go against them. This reminds me of my neighbor who got held up at her gate by gunmen who tried to take her car. She refused, they fired a shot by her ear and she gave in. She said she wished she had given in the first time they asked because they seriously would have taken her life. So too with my friend who was nearly on the site doing some awful deeds… 40grand was far less than her “life” in essence

        August 20, 2012 at 9:14 pm

  2. négro tu blanc

    Even if she gave in to the extortion what’s to stop the admins from posting the pictures once they get the money?

    August 20, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    • That’s a very good point.

      August 20, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    • Pied Piper of Hamelin

      The fact that if they did that no one would ever bother to pay them a cent. But alas, that’s a terrible excuse – if a thug held you up and threaten to kill you for not handing over yous valuables, would you not give him for fear of having him still kill you? No! Why? because money is his motive. In extortion, money is also the only motive, unless there is some personal vendetta.

      August 20, 2012 at 9:38 pm

  3. I for one dont see why anyone who you sent pics to and trusting them to keep private would broadcast them for others to see. This person took the time out to send you photos which portay her at her most vulnerable state and you just up and break that trust for a quick hype. Fucked up times man. This is coming from a guy who loves receiving these kind of pics. http://theincompleteid10t.blogspot.com/2012/05/curse-of-leaked-photos.html#.UDL8g92PV2A

    August 20, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    • This pic thing all started since bbm, yall think you’re safe in a world (bbm) where nobody knows your deeds but your wrong. Am a male and i hate bbm, why because i don’t like typical, am a handsome very nice pics am amaze how much chicks would come on to me plus flirt and doesn’t even hesitate to send me xrated pics. If am suppose to send all the pics on my bbm mem card the site could go a rough 6months with pics of popular girls on bbm and twitter who caught up in this bbm thing still young and don’t understand that everything you post online, stay there even when you delete. you should take for example facebook timeline your post used to be push to delete but they weren’t really deleted, just push to an archive to free up space on fb server but now since the big extension they can put it all bck to your profile, now the fbi can profile you over the yrs

      August 26, 2012 at 12:20 pm

  4. Larry form another place

    You are all crazy. Dang what is the big deal, let him expose it, better yet, send people
    to the site to see you. Then you remove all power from the the guy and no one really cares. Peopl care only if you are weak, it makes them feel as if they have something over you, because you acted like a little scared child, weak and vulnerable. Me I would saw go ahead and herr is my contact list, see if he doesn’t go to the next person. Take back your power, don’t cry be strong, you have a beautiful bodey, why be ashamed damn.
    I don’t agree with the stealing of peoples personel pictures that was meant foe someone else. I mean what you did was not wrong, the main thing is you weren’t trying to be nasty. If you send desent picture to your lover what better way to say I am showing you how much you mean to me that I am wiilling to make myself vulneable, that in it self takes a lot of courage. SO don’t feel bad, chin up . You did the right thing report his ass. He is a loser
    He should setup a site of himself, see how may people would care. Plus there are million ipon millions of naked and nasty photos and vides on the internet for free, so what.
    Chin up I admire you for your courage, just goes to show what a beautiful human you are.

    September 8, 2012 at 3:46 pm

  5. Derrol

    Paying any amount of money wouldn’t solve anything because the administrator still has the pics.
    I think you would just have to deal with the embarrassment and try to move on because an extortionist will never have ur feelings in the good side of his mind.
    Maybe all these exposed pics will take the sting out of certain taboo topics in Jamaica. It might work out in ur favor. Look what happen to miss T and T, a sex tape tuned her into a model.

    September 16, 2012 at 11:45 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,546 other followers