Best News & Current Affairs Blog (2011 & 2012) and Jamaican Blogger of the Year (2011) at The Jamaica Blog Awards.

The Bowaz Phenomenon : The Hype On Twitter


Some time ago I penned the very popular (adjusts ego 🙂 ) post “Twitter : Sex, Lies and Alter Ego“. In the post I raised the issue of persons on the popular social networking site creating and projecting alter egos, which saw them being everything from vagina eaters to dick suckers to bisexuals. I realised that the site affords normal people the chance to be superheroes of sorts. Fortunately or unfortunately, one of the super powers that Twitter confers is a direct acknowledgement of the joys of giving and receiving the previously taboo acts of cunnilingus and fellatio (vagina & penis sucking).

I became aware of the trend to accept the fact that many men are now performing cunnilingus when one morning I casually tweeted “Vagina : The Breakfast of Champions”. To my complete and utter surprise, it received some 10 retweets. Now maybe I’m the one beating a dead horse, maybe oral sex is no longer and issue in Jamaica’s culture, but I’m really surprised at how far we’ve come as a culture with respect to this act. It is no longer something spoken about in hushed tones or in darkness and polite company. Now, oral sex is all the rave. It apparently is the thing to do. Women are now taking pleasure in piercing their tongues to further the perception that they are inclined to perform fellatio. It’s now a badge of honour if a young lady can swallow a penis. 😐

You’ll remember in a previous post, The Bowaz Phenomenon : The Hypocrisy of Jamaican Men, I bemoaned the hypocrisy of men who engaged in oral sex in private and then took a contrary position in public. However, it now appears to be a fad; a requirement almost. Certainly more women are demanding it and making it a staple of their sex lives. I’m sure we’ve all heard how important it is to “lick it before you stick it.” I’m sorry to raise this issue so often, but I can’t help but realise these trends.

As much as I loathe Vybz Kartel’s influence on Jamaica’s culture, I think some amount of credit is his; whether he wants to claim it or not. I’m tempted to offer congratulations to the werl’ bawse, as I believe this liberalisation is a step in the right direction. I can’t readily recall any other, so correct me if I’m wrong, but he is the only dancehall artiste to deal substantively with the issue of oral sex. He placed the issue squarely on the table and seemed to ridicule anyone who was denying that they enjoyed it. (See Freaky Gyal Parts One & Two) While it is true that Kartel’s endorsement, at least in public, is one sided; he has given voice to the issue and I think that has given courage to so many who were otherwise afraid to express their acceptance of the act. When I was in high school, for example, a young lady who was caught sucking, or suspected of sucking penis, was surely ostracised (not to mention a guy who ate vagina :|). He or she was barely permitted to speak within close proximity of someone’s face. That was dangerous, one would have “grounds” and be susceptible to “pussy breath”. Now he or she is celebrated and lauded for their oral prowess on Twitter, “freaky gyal a dem gyal deh mi love.”

However, my friend disagrees that this liberalisation is a step in the right direction. He contends that it’s dangerous as it opens the door for “other forms of sexual perversion”. Now that got me thinking, is oral sex perverse? :/ and even if it is, what’s wrong with opening those flood gates? Let people have sex however they want. What’s wrong with that? If the perversion doesn’t harm you, why should you care? This is the moral stricture that has so bound Jamaicans from freely exercising their sexual preferences. I’m not innocent either. I have contributed to that stigma in many ways, but at what point will we respect privacy and allow people to enjoy what they enjoy in the privacy of their bedrooms? I’m waiting for that point. We’d be better off for it.

Finally, I’m uncomfortably aware of the fact that this is my fourth post on oral sex. I’ve rinsed the issue. Am I betraying the desires of my mind? As a man thinketh, so is he? Perhaps. I’ll be retiring this topic now. Before I do so though, I have to tell you…. “neva neva si sup’m whe mi love suh; every time mi _______, my _______ get suck” 🙂 🙂 🙂 😉

Shout out to the members of Oral Inc. 🙂

6 responses

  1. G

    What’s Oral Inc.?

    And Kartel wasn’t the first to bring up freaks. Think Babycham was one of the first ppl I heard with it.. his career is doing okay right?

    Not to mention that DMX Sisqo song :-/

    October 27, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    • Oral Inc. is a group of males on Twitter dedicated to eating vagina.

      Lol. DMX & Sisqo aren’t dancehall artistes -.-

      What song did Cham have? Say, where is Cham by the way?

      October 27, 2011 at 12:39 pm

      • G

        Babycham – Boom
        Bruckout riddim.. roun 1998

        See lyrics here: http://www.metrolyrics.com/boom-lyrics-babycham.html

        Oral inc., sounds like they’re attention whores.. but the proof is in the pudding, which is in the eating ^_^ #twitpic the ppl need proof

        October 27, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    • Yea Baby Cham is the first. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GwvEeOnHj_8

      December 29, 2011 at 8:38 pm

  2. -_-

    This new “sucking/nyamming craze” annoys me………..time and time again you see people tweeting bout “if you nah suck/nyam yah miss out or every female should suck” so should i take it that if you dont suck you missing out on life? Utter bullshit to each his own, you wanna suck or nyam go ahead but doh talk down to others who wish not to practice the act and then there is the whole “every female suck and if she say she nuh suck a lie” why is it that a every female have to suck, why every male cah nyam?
    As a person who experienced nyamming from someone who love come pan twitter and chat say them love nyam its just a big brag (he needs to have a seat and leave sucking alone). From my point of view many of these twitter suckers/nyammers just doing it to get attention or “twitter fame”. Many of them obviously dont know what the saying “what goes on behind close doors stay behind close doors” mean BUT!!!!!!!!!!!! Hey !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its 2011 the year of sucking and nyamming when 2012 roll in what is it gonna be …………..group sex?? anal sex?? or ears hole sex x_x

    October 27, 2011 at 5:19 pm

  3. We should not perpetuate the idea that women (and men) pierce their tongues so they can perform cunnilingus/fellatio more effectively. I want to pierce my tongue. I think it looks cool. And my sister who has a tongue piercing quite likes how the ring feels in her mouth. For us it has nothing to do with oral sex, and if it does, so what? Why point and speculate? I swear we can be so childish when it comes to sex and sexuality.

    I’m not sure when/if heterosexual anal sex will similarly become a none-issue, but there are some parallels to be drawn between responses to oral sex say 10 years ago and responses to anal sex today. Oral sex isn’t new. But there has been a cultural shift and people no longer need to feel shame if they desire/do it. In the same vein, quite a few of my female friends in Jamaica have shared that they have had anal sex and they enjoy it.

    Of course, I’ve never heard a Jamaican heterosexual man admitting to enjoying anal sex. I know they exist though. The women aren’t screwing themselves. I imagine the day will come when a guy will be able to say, yea, she likes it up the ass and it kinda turns me on. But I don’t see that happening until we get to the point that you described as ideal: when we respect privacy and allow people to enjoy what they enjoy.

    I just read a line re privacy that is very relevant here. Would love to know if you agree: “Privacy ought not to mean the right to indulge in otherwise shameful behavior in one’s bedroom.”

    October 27, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Leave a Reply

