Best News & Current Affairs Blog (2011 & 2012) and Jamaican Blogger of the Year (2011) at The Jamaica Blog Awards.

Transformers : An Action Packed Thrill Ride


“Quite literally the greatest action movie I’ve ever seen.”

Those were the words that escaped my lips as I rose to leave Cinema 3 at Carib 5 this afternoon. I had just seen the Michael Bay directed and Steven Spielberg produced “Transformers Dark of The Moon”, and my heart rate had barely began to stabilise. This is a movie that starts at awesome, takes a turn at amazing and drops you off at pure visual and cinematic brilliance. From the 3D graphics to the plot, from the humour to the heroism; Michael Bay delivers, in my opinion, the greatest action movie of his career.

Here are my ratings of the aspects of the movie I think are most important.

(1) The Graphics & 3D.

When we hear 3D lately, we think there isn’t much to look forward to. Usually we get one or two scenes in 3D but the movie is largely two dimensional. We usually leave the cinema annoyed that we wasted money on the hiked 3D tickets.

Trust me, Transformers re-defines 3D.

From start to finish, your eyes will be given a stunning visual treat. There was even a point in the movie where I blinked to prevent the dust from getting into my eyes. Yes, the 3D effects are that good. You will appreciate the brilliant red and orange of the flames, marvel at the crisp blue of the seas; and stare in wonderment at the beauty of the heavens and far away galaxies. You will witness Sam fly through the air with stunning clarity. Not to mention the opening scene where we see some very supple lady parts…in 3D.

The Graphics & 3D gets 4/5 stars.

(2) The Plot.

The Decepticons are again trying to reek havoc on planet earth. This time by seeking to enslave humanity and permanently inhabit our planet. Optimus Prime and his group of autobots, assisted by the humans, are in the battle of their mechanical life to not only preserve our world, but ensure that freedom reigns. The movie suggests that the US had placed a man on the moon to investigate a lunar crash that could have had dire consequences for the fate of the universe. That’s all I’ll say. The plot is expertly crafted and takes a sudden and unexpected turn which ultimately leaves you worried and concerned that perhaps the Autobots have lost the battle for planet earth. Woven into this is the steaming romance between Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) and Carly Spencer (Rosie Huntington-Whiteley), Bumblebee’s antics and Optimus Prime’s heroic speeches.

The plot gets 3/5 stars.

(3) The Acting.

I’m sorry to report that beyond Patrick Dempsey’s portrayal of Dylan Gould, the actors generally gave a substandard performance. LaBeouf, who I’ve never really respected as an actor, only shines when he is called upon to be funny. He does this very well. A career as a comedian might work out, if the acting gig fails. His character spends most of the movie shouting and hiding behind buildings and being rescued by Bumblebee. We see an attempt at substance in the beginning as Sam desperately searches for a job. Beyond that, LaBeouf gives a very weak performance as lead male. Several persons were concerned about the impact of replacing Megan Fox as LaBeouf’s on screen love interest. I can say it made very little difference. Huntington-Whiteley plays the role of damsel in distress very well. She shines most when she stands up to Megatron, calling him a “Sentinel’s bitch”. Generally the script focuses on humour and shouting.

For their efforts, the actors get a 2.5/5 stars.

(4) The Climax.

Once Optimus Prime and the Autobots survive an attempt to “deport” them, the audience begins to expect a show down like no other. I personally wasn’t very impressed by Optimus Prime’s fight scenes, specifically the closing scene. I thought more emphasis could have been placed on making the Autobots seem more heroic. Instead, I felt the humans got the real glory; which I suppose is fair; considering our world was the one at risk.

The climax and final fight scene gets 2/5 stars.

(5) Humour : 4/5 Stars.

This movie will keep you laughing just as often it gets you shouting or sitting on the edge of your seat. Sam’s “hot head”reactions make for good humour. And the robots are witty and quick on their feet with comebacks.

Ultimately “Transformers : Dark of The Moon” delivers everything an action movie is expected to. If you’re trying to enjoy a fast paced summer thrill ride, this is the movie for you. You will be delighted and dazzled from start to finish. Definitely worth the watch. I personally might see it again.

Well done Michael Bay.

4 responses

  1. Floydie

    Hear me now. I watch this movie since evening as well and trust me, i felt it, like i was in the film. With your opinion on “Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf)” performance, nuh really matter to me, i think he did well overall and this may sound like a “dis ting” to people but Megan Fox was not missed in my view. Carly Spencer (Rosie Huntington-Whiteley) played her part perfectly, i mean look at the teasers we got

    The beginning; “The camera focused on her ass, it was firm as hell”

    Scene with her in the white outfit: “I mean she got figure damn it” 🙂

    Both Megan and Rosie are two sexaciously beautiful women. I love em both

    The movie now, grabbed but because seeing the trailer on the television so many times, my observatory skins pick up alot of thinks before watching the film. All i can say is that to watch it at home is good but if you watch it at the theaters the experience “tun up!!!.

    My only questions tho are
    1. What happen to Mojo (Sam’s Dog in T1 and T2) ?
    2. The end battle in the final scene. Are there any other enemies? <–(Censored to mentain suspence)
    3. Will there be a Transformers 4?… I really hope so, i really do

    Throughout this film tho, you will realize "keep your friends close and your enemies closer"

    I love this movie and im going to spend another $1000 to see this again.

    Transformers Siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiick!!!!!! ^_^

    July 3, 2011 at 12:14 am

  2. For me, I enjoyed myself so much because the story may start off slow, but as time goes on, the action is amazing and just happens non-stop to the point of where I left, I was just totally worn-out thanks to Michael Bay. Good Review! Check out mine when you can!

    July 3, 2011 at 8:46 am

    • I just did! Your review is far better that mine. Much more of a substantive analysis. I urge everyone who reads this post to go and check out his review at http://www.dtmmr.wordpress.com.

      July 3, 2011 at 2:01 pm

  3. This is the best out of three Transformers and probably the best 3D movie I’ve seen thus far. It was worth my $1000!

    LOL @ “Several persons were concerned about the impact of replacing Megan Fox as LaBeouf’s on screen love interest. I can say it made very little difference.” I didn’t miss her enuh.

    And Shia LaBeouf is growing. Although I didn’t like him from Even Stevens, because his character was so stupid and annoying. But I think he’s developing as an actor or atleast he’s trying to..

    “In any war, there are calms between storms.
    There will be days when we lose faith.
    Days when our allies turn against us…
    but the day will never come that we forsake
    this planet and its people.”- Optimus Prime

    Peleem Peleem! lol.

    July 3, 2011 at 10:50 am

Leave a Reply

