Best News & Current Affairs Blog (2011 & 2012) and Jamaican Blogger of the Year (2011) at The Jamaica Blog Awards.

The Ragashanti Saga


Disclaimer : I’m not going to seek to defend the RagaShanti Show, if you’re a fan of his and you’ll take offence to criticisms being levelled at him; close the tab. I’m annoyed and I’m going to be ranting.

Closed it? No? Still here? Very well.

Unlike my previous blog posts, this one will have no ceremony. No introduction. It won’t sound academic and it probably won’t even make sense. I’m just annoyed that my timeline falls victim to this show so often.

Ragashanti’s show is not only annoying, but it is absolute rubbish. I remember when the show was on the radio, I marvelled at how “cayliss” Jamaican people are. I mean, if you’re gonna sex with someone, shouldn’t you at least get bus fare to go back home? I’m not here for people sexing and then have to “boom ride” to get home. I’m not here for that at all.

While some of the callers are funny, the general show is unproductive. The show was largely defended as the voice of ghetto people. And many people hit back that “uptown” people were being hypocrites by trying to get the show off the air waves. I suppose the argument was being made that it gave voice to those who are neglected in our society. That’s rubbish!

It perpetuates the ghetto mentality. Has anyone ever stopped to consider that the host has a doctorate? As in, a PhD? And the callers, for the most part, I’m assuming, have no jobs? And probably have 1 – 3 kids depending on them? These people don’t work, they stayed at home and called in to suss. How is that productive for them? How does it help them? A lot of people took offence to the criticism levelled at the show when it was on radio (by the way, I’m assuming it isn’t anymore, I heard it was pulled…feel free to correct me) but the reality is, it wasn’t helping anything. It just helped to continue a cycle of poverty, under productivity and caylissness. Now don’t get me wrong, I love caylissniss. I live for it. (Ask Karen, she can tell you), but I think the people who do nothing productive with their lives shouldn’t be encouraged to continue. That’s how I see it.

And what’s up with those who have jobs and sneak away into the bathroom to call the show AND they don’t have enough credit either? That’s a loss of productivity!

You Call –» No Work done –» The Economy Suffers –» Poverty Rampant –» Crime –» People Die.

All because you called Raga’s show! See how serious it is? No? You don’t? That’s why you’re a listener of Raga’s show.

I generally had no problem with the subject matter the show covered. I just think more than 50% of the callers are lying; which defeats the purpose of the show. Why would I want to sit and listen to people call in to make up lies about their sex lives? What is this? 4th grade? Oh wait, we weren’t supposed to be having sex in the 4th grade, were we? Oh, no? We weren’t? Well, this is awkward. Anyhow, so yes. These callers grossly exaggerate their sexual experiences, I’ll pass on that.

Side Note : Is swiping eating vagina or is it eating out someone’s …? (I’m sorry – I had to ask)

Back to the Post :

What’s the benefit of the show? Entertainment? Well, I guess. I mean, it has made me laugh several times. Still, I’m not sure if it’s “haha funny” or “oh no, your life is really sad kinda funny.”

I don’t want to hear about people sexing on sinks (well I do, but IDK..not from Raga? IDK) I’m amazed at the “uppity” people on my timeline when I see you guys enjoying it. Is it that the callers say what you wish you could? You wish you could sex on the sink? Or in the bush? (I recommend bush sex by the way, very fulfilling) I digress.

Listen your Raga and shut the hell up about it. If I want to listen, I’ll do so. I’d like to tweet in peace. Thanks.

Here endeth my rant. I’m hungry and HOT! 😐

I promise my next post will be academic like and serious. 🙂

15 responses

  1. Fuju

    I disagree in parts with this 1, but as u rightly said “you’re annoyed and you’re going to rant” and I understand ur view point

    June 8, 2011 at 11:06 pm

  2. Nella

    ricky u a me friend and you know me nah go hide and talk, 1st of all swiping is the other term for sucking and is not only jobless people listen, people from all over listen, even ppl in Afghanistan call in to thank him for taking their minds off the killings and thing, to each his own and when you tweeting bout what you enjoy and when you watching your fav. movie you wanna feel free to tweet bout it so shut up and stop complain lol love you ricky 🙂

    June 8, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    • I know Nella, I know a lot of people enjoy it. In fact, I think most of us just like listening but we ourselves would never behave that way on live radio.

      June 9, 2011 at 12:09 am

  3. SuperDivaKerry

    Having the same problem with my timeline..aaaw bwoy!

    June 8, 2011 at 11:13 pm

  4. Deconstruction

    If the standard for having shows on radio or tv is that it must add to the “productivity” of the listeners, I would be at a loss to think of one station that would fit neatly into that category. People tune in to music stations and watch soap operas and go to plays for the purpose of escaping their realities for those precious minutes; TO BE ENTERTAINED. That’s the whole point of an entertainment industry and Raga’s programme fits into that market. There’s no obligation on the show to do anything other than entertain those who tune in (the formally educated and otherwise).

    Let also take issue with the “ghetto mentality” argument. None of the discussions I’ve heard in relation to say sex, is unique to ghetto people. Uptown people gossip about the same issues and write very interesting letters in the Sunday Outlook asking for advice on said issues. The only distinction that can be made in relation to the show is that the discussions are not as refined as carefully crafted letters (which of course is an understatement). But crass and vulgar language is how Jamaicans communicate when they are in a relaxed mode, chatting with friends, watching movies, listening to a song etc. That the same approach be adopted to a show geared at entertainment is hardly surprising and doesn’t warrant the contempt you’ve expressed.

    As to the doctorate issue, I see no reason why a distinction can’t be made between Dr Kingsley Stewart (professional) and Ragashanti (entertainer). The former adds to nation building by educating students and hopefully doing research. The latter is filling the niche spoken about earlier. He’s hardly the only person to occupy his non-professional time doing entertainment. The guy who plays Bruce Golding on the Ity and Fancy Cat Show comes to mind. He’s a doctor by day and comedian by night. No harm is done to anyone by him doing both.

    June 9, 2011 at 12:08 am

    • Ok. Touche. I’m not going to argue this post. My contempt was informed primarily by my annoyance with it taking over my timeline. Thanks for your thoughts though 🙂

      June 9, 2011 at 12:30 am

    • Me

      Thank you, Deconstruction! And let the church say, “A – men!” As a farin, I see and hear so much foolishness on the island that it’s difficult for me to know what to take seriously.

      June 9, 2011 at 8:45 pm

  5. To avoid it, I get off twitter in the period the show airs, its quite annoying seeing all these people tweeting about the same thing (especially since I’m not interested)…but that’s where twitter is concerned.
    About the show, I’ve listened, care very little about it. I don’t find it interesting and that’s that.

    June 9, 2011 at 1:08 am

  6. WH

    Well….i love this post….I respect Dr. RagaShanti….but lately i’ve lost alot of respect for him…and his show is to blame…there was a time where his show was balanced and dealt with many issues, but now it’s filled with “Cayliss” living…mark you while that is entertaining to many, the question is, “is that all you got?”. Raga is influential., heck if he cud…he’d run for prime minister and prolly win…lol…but this is not hate towards him, i wish he knew better for a man with a PhD….instead of just talking about “who a gi bun” or ” who a swipe under table” why not challenge jamaicans to uplift the country and fight out injustice? He has some power on him for that…anyway…good read….Dueces nigga!

    June 9, 2011 at 3:03 am

  7. Floydie

    Very good post. I agree with some thing and disagree with some, but everybody has their views right. I mean if i wasnt interested in sumn and im seeing it all over my TL it would get annoying fa real but just like what nella sed, its like you watching a movie or show and you tweet bout it. With me tho, i aint into the mixup at all, i will listen to it but im never apart of it

    June 9, 2011 at 3:43 am

  8. i don’t like the show … never have. ive never actually gone out of my way to listen to it but ive heard it in some business places as employees listen while attempting to work and i just think its inappropriate.

    Maybe im a little sensitive but i don’t want to hear the slackness on my radio in the middle of the day. it may be for entertainment but its just a little too lewd for my taste

    June 9, 2011 at 8:43 am

  9. Robynn

    I definitely agree with you. Well at first the radioshow (when it was in air) was funny, I think it has now gone overboard. Well some may defend it and say it’s entertainment, I think that’s bullshit. The ‘Deconstruction’ person pointed out that it probably would defeat the purpose if it aids in productivity, rubbish.

    While people need to de-stress, you don’t de-stress or relax during the time when you SHOULD be working, the time when you’re adding to nation building, you do that in your own personal time. There shouldn’t be any escaping of reality when you’re PAID to be doing something else, esp if it’s taxpayers’ money. Hence it does contribute to loss of productivity.

    June 9, 2011 at 3:35 pm

  10. MB.

    Raga is all in this for the money, well who isn’t? I doubt he cares.

    I think he’s a genius though. Sussing on radio, nice way to make money. His Ph.D is in Anthropology, the study of Human, what better way for the him to profit from the vulnerability of Jamaican? Jamaicans LOVE to suss and sex sells.

    I think at the time when he was on the radio, his program was valued at some 2 million USD because a lot people, a lot of ghetto people, a lot of unemployed people and few middle class people that neglected their work tuned in and companies would pay money to air their Ads at those time. See? money.

    While some people might defend and say ‘Uptown’ people listen too. So? They actually have money, a job and a decent life. They can afford to. They don’t have 10 kids by 10 different men that they can’t feed or send to school.

    Do you think managers, CEOs, CFOs, Senior Lecturers, etc have time to be listening to mix up on the radio though? Ghetto people, and unemployed people have the time though. Those people have nothing to do.

    June 9, 2011 at 4:27 pm

  11. Raga Fan

    Me have to disagree, caz listening to Raga is lika way to relax. U figet all about ur problems…

    June 9, 2011 at 7:26 pm

  12. TheAinzlee

    Boss, You are right and i’ll share this on my timeline so I dont have to write one myself! At the end of the day What do I get from this show??? nothing!!!! at least nothing to help me… other shows mos def more than this even if it is minuscule.

    June 10, 2011 at 11:32 am

Leave a Reply

