Best News & Current Affairs Blog (2011 & 2012) and Jamaican Blogger of the Year (2011) at The Jamaica Blog Awards.

May 21, 2011 : The Religious HardTalk Edition


It was barely two days ago that I posted [The World Is Ending…Again] and voiced my opinion on the whole judgement day saga. It then came to my attention that one Michael Lewis, no relation to L.A. Lewis guys, would be on Ian Boyne’s Religious HardTalk; defending and promoting the end of the world. I decided to tune in.

Quite apart from his obvious lack of confidence in his armageddon message, evidenced by his stuttering and general posture and appearance, Mr. Michael Lewis did Christianity a great disservice last night. Not only were there glaring inconsistencies in his basic premise, the logic was laughable.

I want to go over three of the points raised by Mr. Lewis. The master’s degree holding Mr. Lewis. So let’s not think this is mere ranting by some uneducated person. The man has a master’s degree. Where’s your master’s? Eh? Thought so. Don’t come here grinning. The man has a master’s! Heh.

(1) God left The Church (all christian denominations) in 1988. Let me just state I was born on July 25th 19…wait for it…88. And at the behest of my staunchly Roman Catholic parents, I was baptised in August of that year. (Roman Catholics believe in infant baptism) but I digress.

So if God left the church in 1988, and I’m going to assume this is January 1, 1988; one whole generation has been damned to hell. It simply means that the power of salvation and redemption granted through baptism has been null and void since 1988. Do you have any idea how severe that assumption is? Seventh Day Adventists alone should be cringing. They baptised some 100,000 Jamaicans in the last decade alone. If Christ has left the church, the waters of baptism have not been “troubled” for quite some time. (Hums The Water Is Troubled My Friend) God’s almighty power is moving every hour? Mr. Lewis says no. No power has moved since 1988. Sucks to be us.

Womp.

(2) Mr. Lewis’ movement has gotten it wrong before. Apparently, they had predicted judgement on the world in 1994. And no, the world didn’t end. He claims that there were actually two dates. This is almost laughable. It’s a complete mockery of the christian faith and it makes God look like a joke. I mean, what could be more idle than to tell your prophets, “I’m coming enuh, but I may or may not come in 1994, but I’ll definitely be there in 2011.” It’s all one big joke! I’m not as versed in scripture as I should be, but did anyone ever get the impression there were two days of judgement? And we’d raffle to see which one was the real one? I sure didn’t. I find it amusing that Mr. Lewis has specific information such as what will trigger the judgement (a massive earthquake Friday night) and yet he didn’t know 1994 was a sham? This is the wrong side of faith. The ugly side of faith. The delusional side of faith. It’s sad. I can literally hear the atheists laughing right now.

(3) Judgement Day BEGINS on May 21st, it actually ends on October 21st. So that answers my prior question regarding how we’ll all be judged in 24 hours. We still didn’t get specifics on how the actually judging will take place though. I’m assuming we’ll wait in line. So that’s six months of waiting? Wow. Sigh. I really, really, really hope there’s shade. I’m even losing interest in the topic as I write this. He made little to no sense last night. It was a severe blow to the credibility of the christian faith. I repeat, the ugly side of faith. The delusional side of faith.

I changed the channel before the program ended, so I didn’t hear the steps to take to ensure my soul is saved. Then again, I’m so disheartened that I’ve gone to church all this time, considering it was a God less affair, I’ll probably just tweet someone and ask for the steps. Or maybe one of you could tell me what they are.

Conclusion : There’s a 99.9% chance the world isn’t ending on Saturday. I leave room for error, just in case. Lol. I might have to recant at 9pm Friday night. Until then, the world isn’t ending. And that’s that.

HEY! Stop grinning! Do you have a Master’s Degree? Eh? No. No you don’t!

23 responses

  1. it was ridiculous at best!

    btw … God has already chosen all the peeps will go to heaven but u can cry out to him and he might change his mind abt u (according to Sir Lewis)

    May 18, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    • Oh, I sure hope I’m on the original list. I’ll cry out though, just in case.

      May 18, 2011 at 2:33 pm

  2. R.

    He has a Master’s Degree?

    In what? Talking BS?

    I would have written more in this post, but time will not allow me to point out each of his fallacies, nor will I waste such time on, as was stated,
    BULLSHIT.
    Again, great post. (Y)

    May 18, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    • Thanks Ross. Ian didn’t say what he had the degree in, but he has is MBA. Lol.

      May 18, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    • I feel so dunce! LOL! Ross, the MBA is a Master’s in Business Administration apparently. And “is” should be “his” in my first reply to you. Siiiigh.

      May 18, 2011 at 10:08 pm

  3. Christina

    Unu lucki seh unu have time fi listen to him….

    May 18, 2011 at 4:10 pm

  4. Nella

    ricky yuh know when me hear him seh God already have him list me start fret cause me name might deh pan di list and me sheg it up when me mention the “M” word…. but mr lewis need to make up him mind cause him sound confuse and im wondering if when he wakes and see sunday morning if him ago commit suicide #JustWondering *runs off to get some sex before di worl’ end*

    May 18, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    • And you just keep making things bad for yourself! U should be CRYING out to God! Didn’t you see the comment telling you how to save your soul Nella? CRY OUT!

      May 18, 2011 at 5:13 pm

  5. TinyDivaNas

    I watched until the end n still got no tips except to hope that God changes His mind.
    Also, apparently all church-goers have been worshiping Satan so you are in quite the predicament for the few times u went to mass ON TIME (I remember your tweets, sir). Get your lungs in shape ’cause u shall be crying out.
    The best part, for me n a lotta people was when he said he sold his stuff and he put in for vacation time at his workplace. With all– I mean, most (apparently some people will get a bly from dying) of us dead, who is gonna use his stuff? How does he know who will be alive? And if he’s so sure of the day, why didn’t he just quit or resign? His vacay ends the 24thm by the way but he’s sure that he’ll be in heaven by next Tuesday.
    To say the least, I am not amused and should we live past the 21st, this man should be brought up on charges for inciting public fear and Ian Boyne needs to be reprimanded for the part he played. The media is too irresponsible with the power they have

    May 18, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    • Surely learned counsel isn’t saying the Master’s degree holding gentleman shouldn’t have been given a platform from which to preach his dooms day message? Surely not! Freedom of speech, counsel? Freedom of the media? Hahaha.

      I’m gonna have to do some shouting to get my chote in tip top shape. I plan to wait until Friday at about 9pm to repent and cry out. What time you crying out Nas? Mhm? What time?

      May 18, 2011 at 6:32 pm

  6. TinyDivaNas

    If it’s a platform that he needed, YouTube would’ve been just fine. He could have paid for some space in a newspaper (I would recommend The Star). Not everyone has cable and, as such, while we do have choices to switch the channel, this movement has seen to it that they have bombarded us with their message. I, truly don’t know what they plan to gain from this. Surely not followers because anyone who could be so easily convinced to convert is hardly likely to be a true believer and would leave the second the 22nd rolls around (if it does) or would not be accepted by God. As for his MBA, was it in theology? Even if it was, you can’t teach someone faith so he can take his laptop and notes and go rehearse some more. I could have gotten one as well and then made a theory about how humans evolved from trees but you don’t see me doing that now, do you? And even that theory would be ok because I am not inciting fear and panic unless, of course, I’m dealing with someone with a phobia of trees. My prior degree in Psychology (yes, watch me toot my own horn) can make arguments for how such a theory would even be helpful. But I digress….
    I cry out every time I pray. It may or may not be enough but God already knows the list for heaven.
    What I wonder is, what are other countries doing to prepare? How do the Jews feel? This would be the first time God (Christ) is coming, according to them. What about other denominations that have yet to be exposed to our concept of God? Seems unfair to send people to eternal damnation for being ignorant, no?
    AND I am STILL waiting on the ODPEM to tell me what to do for the upcoming earthquake. Look how much notice dem get! Tsk!

    May 18, 2011 at 6:48 pm

  7. TinyDivaNas

    But wait, I just realized that his Master’s is MBA. As in, Master of Business Administration. U can get dat ina theology? Is theology recognized as a business that is administered? This is all I should have asked in ma second comment. Not that one should only comment on something if you’re an expert or studied it but his MBA is truly of no substance to his argument because this is a whole new topic.
    Lemme know if you wana have a prayer meeting to cry out on Friday. You’ll have to bring snacks.

    May 18, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    • Sure. Praying meeting at Nas’ place everyone. Ummm, I hope you like seafood. Shrimp cocktails? And prolly some rough tops? Or fish and bread with white wine? We’ll definitely need rum. I propose we start at about 5pm though. That way we have adequate time to “cry”, the earthquake begins at 11pm I understand.

      May 18, 2011 at 7:07 pm

  8. Richard

    So the world is ending so says a guy with a master’s degree?
    Let me tune in on Saturday to see this end! haha

    May 19, 2011 at 5:47 am

  9. Verily i say onto thee. when the giant unpredictable predicted earthquake arrives it shall engolf you first and foremost mister sir. and judgement shall not happen in 24hrs according to this man. but infact in 153 days. and i have come to understand if u have listened to any gospel song made from 1990 onwards or gone to church u are worshipping the devil…u heard me. this dude saide mary mary and papa san and dj nicholous are devil worshippers -______-

    May 19, 2011 at 4:14 pm

  10. Dervin

    good article. I’m not one to judge or ridicule a person because of their theory especially if they’re only a follower. I do feel sorry for Mr. Lewis bcuz of the fact that he (as it would seem) has been somewhat hypnotized by the creator of this movement Harold Camping. So lets not lay all the blame on Mr. Lewis, he is merely a pawn.

    Also an interesting point raised this morning on SJ is that we cannot say that God will not return on May 21st bcuz of course no one can truly tell when he will return. So he could well and come tomorrow, but that will be just a coincidence.

    Believing that he will or will not return is different from KNOWing that he will/will not.

    May 20, 2011 at 10:12 am

    • I think the point is that Mr. Lewis needed to inspire confidence in his message, he failed to do that. In so doing or not doing, he opened up himself to ridicule. I take your point that no one really knows if God will come tomorrow, He very well may. (I think I left open the possibility in the post). Let’s just watch and wait. In the mean time, repentance, by all of us, would be wise.

      May 20, 2011 at 10:32 am

  11. You know, when you mentioned that you could hear the atheists laughing I had to smile. Agnostic myself (Please do not confuse with atheist), I’ve been quite entertained as I’ve watched the decline in integrity of Christianity over the past decade. This May 21st prophecy is indeed, as you say, ‘laughable’. Even Noah and the others had the sense to say that God spoke to them directly before they went out fear mongering. These chimps are going off of their own slap shop interpretation of thousands of years worth of tampered with documents that are nothing more than the subjective musings of other equally flawed men to begin with.

    The end of the world has to be one of the oldest fads in history as even Jesus once predicted it and was dead ass wrong. I just feel bad for the average man who is so blindly lead by faith that he is not immune to such poisonous propaganda.

    I personally do not believe in such a thing as “the end of the world” and even if this “God” of ours does decide to pull the plug on humanity as we know it I doubt he’d confide in the same mankind he is about to obliterate. I just feel bad for the people and children whose lives may have been disrupted by all of this.

    May 20, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    • Yes, that is my own concern; the credibility and integrity of Christianity. These people are doing a huge disservice to the denomination. Still, as Dervin says…what if the world really does end? LOL.
      As to those who accept the message, I have no pity. This is the ugly, blind and delusional side of faith and hopefully a wake up call for them. Thanks for your thoughts Klieon.

      May 20, 2011 at 9:44 pm

  12. Pingback: The World Is Ending…Again « Veritas

  13. Pingback: Thank You ! : 10,000 Hits « Veritas

  14. Jamgirl

    Klieon, not usre if you’ll see this since it’s an old message but I just wanted to know when it was Jesus predicted when the end of the word would be as I can’t seem to find where He said it specifically. Thanks.

    February 4, 2012 at 6:51 pm

  15. Mleleisa

    The things of God are spiritual; not carnal! Having a Master’s or even a PhD is no indication that the message of the Kingdom of God is going to be any more easily grasped than not having one. Mr. Lewis may have been very sincere; unfortunately he was sincerely wrong.

    Make no mistake though, Jesus will return. There has been appointed a time when God will bring an end to the system of things as they now exist. If you want to understand the true gospel and how to be saved (I am almost sure you have NEVER heard the biblical truth about this) please send me an e-mail at meleisawitter@yahoo.com.

    May 28, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Leave a Reply

