Best News & Current Affairs Blog (2011 & 2012) and Jamaican Blogger of the Year (2011) at The Jamaica Blog Awards.

Preaching On Buses : “One Stop Driva! Mi Waan Come Off!”‏


The bus is hot. Packed. A young man plays the latest Movado from his cellphone (not even a Blackberry enuh…pffffft). The school children are shouting and screaming. The smells. The sweat. I’m patiently counting the stops until I am able to get off this bus and then I hear it, “Good evenin passingerz, I ham ere wid a werd fram God.”

I searched my bag desperately for my earphones to block out the impending message of the apocalypse and of the fact that Jamaica’s crime problem was a direct result of our “wickidniss”. Alas, my earphones were not with me. I would have to suffer the abuse of preaching on the bus.

As I listened to the preacher’s message from God, I began to question why preaching on buses was even allowed. Why do we excuse religion for so much that we would condemn others for? For example, would we have been so accommodating if someone had come to preach against God? Or in favour of oral sex? Or in favour of homosexuality? Why is religion allowed special privilege? Why is a particular belief system given such leeway? I perhaps should say Christianity and not religion but whatever.

Having paid my $80, I was expecting a ride home without being intimidated by this “Messenger of God”. Not only was his message hateful and illogical, it was clear he had a limited grasp of scriptures and the English Language. His sole point of biblical reference would be John 3:15. At one point I even wondered if he himself understood why Jesus came. Though he referenced the scripture passage, you would have thought the whole island was already condemned to hell, he didn’t see Jesus’ redemptive work. He painted God as a vengeful and almost murderous being.

Why are christians so judgemental? Christians are the first to cast stones and sometimes I wonder if most have ever read the book which they quote so often. What about tolerance? Love? Patience? Seriously, what about these things?

As he continued shouting himself hoarse, he turned to the children and proceeded to frighten them with his hateful message. I’m sorry, but I think that’s just fundamentally wrong. A child should not be subjected to that kind of thing and that preacher’s message did nothing but disturb the already uncomfortable situation in the bus. The fact that it is a public transport vehicle should mandate that no one be allowed to be so loud and disruptive.

Christian or no christian, no one should be excluded from that general rule of thumb. If I want to hear your hateful and illogical message, I’ll visit your church. I don’t need you spitting and shouting at me. That’s not what I paid $80 for. Yes! Bus fare is $80! If I ever I’m in a position to legislate, that’s the first thing I’ll ban, preaching on buses. Yup, I said it.

After what seemed like years, the bus arrived at my destination. As I stepped off the bus, the preacher could clearly be heard saying “…if anyone wants to give me a donation now…”

Shouldn’t his “donation” come from heaven? It is, afterall, God’s work.

11 responses

  1. Karim

    I too am annoyed by this phenomena that should stop! I don’t care if I sound anti-religious but I don’t see the point of having religion stuffed down my throat at the leisure of the few who claim to be ‘called’. I for one am convinced that these people are ‘called’ to swindle cash from those dumb enough to offer a donation to their cause.

    BUS PREACHING = BIG BUSINESS

    March 11, 2011 at 10:23 pm

  2. @DaProngs

    I am in total agreement. This issue has been bothering me for as long as I can remember. I hate it with a passion. I actually got sooo upset at one point that I attempted to stop one because I was having a headache and the woman didn’t even pay me any mind!

    March 12, 2011 at 2:55 pm

  3. G

    I agree, cant take it more time.. but they’re preaching the word of the Lord (thanks be to God)

    But i’ll take a taxi or coaster if i can, they tend to avoid those o_0

    March 28, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    • I hate it! I just cannot deal with the noise & often times it makes the situation in the bus worse. I’ll start taking coasters.. LOL! xD

      March 28, 2011 at 11:40 pm

  4. Carl-Anthony

    I agree wholly with this, and kudos to the mind it came from… Erratum however isnt it John 3:16?
    verse 15 “Anyone who hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life in him” (NIV) would not be used by many of our bigoted and hyprocitic clergy or “aspiring” lay preachers it leaves them too open to scrutiny…

    your last line reminds me of a poem by Ian Macdonald of the same title…and your tone just like his, though I daresay u speak from the inside where his disillusion made him atheist…

    you have a big fan in me sir and i encourage your to keep giving your thoughts and witticisms

    April 4, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    • Thank you for your kind comments Mr. Hines, you flatter me. It is true that often times when one studies christian behaviour it seems unlikely that they serve a God of love, peace and tolerance.

      April 4, 2011 at 10:01 pm

  5. Michael

    I agree with you, especially in the case where they’re obnoxiously loud and carry on as if they want to forcefully push their beliefs down my throat.

    And quite frankly, the ‘Jesus is coming soon’ message is getting very monotonous now.

    May 5, 2011 at 2:41 pm

  6. Khimani Williams

    Hey, don’t worry about the message of God’s coming soon being monotonous. He’ll come. He promised you! And He keeps promises. 🙂

    Anyways, I am a Christian, and the same way unbelievers say Christians judge them, the same way they cast judgments. Who said that all Christians condemn others? Who? You? Who are you to tell?

    Jesus did say that He didn’t come to condemn but to save. The condemnation is for later (monotonous eh?), but today is for salvation.

    And God is a God of love and peace. He is also a Holy God and is Just. So He is not tolerant to sin. He will judge it all.

    And don’t confuse what tolerant is. Being tolerant doesn’t mean I accept your views. It is because we differ and CANNOT agree why there is need for tolerance. We both think the other is wrong, but for peace and civility we tolerate each other.

    But preaching on a bus is what it is. I too am annoyed at it sometimes, because some of these ‘messengers’ are really in it for the money. AND THOSE ARE NOT CHRISTIANS!!!

    You speak of Jesus coming to redeem… and I agree. But if we weren’t lost and condemned there wouldn’t be need for redemption, and this is why we preach the Cross of Christ and the Truth of God. Because we love you, for we are recipient of God’s unconditional love.

    Jah Blesses!

    May 12, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    • Thanks for your thoughts man. And I’m happy you agree that those who solicit money after preaching aren’t true christians.

      May 13, 2011 at 11:39 am

  7. K'Empress

    #DEAD! I love this post!! Mi need fi spend a day n jus read d evrey single one. You’re amazing…:*

    April 9, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Leave a Reply

