Best News & Current Affairs Blog (2011 & 2012) and Jamaican Blogger of the Year (2011) at The Jamaica Blog Awards.

R.I.P. UberTwitter‏


As is usual, this morning I woke up and tweeted up a storm, loving the functionality and aesthetic value of my favourite Twitter app, UberTwitter. Most of my tweets were focused on the Manatt Enquiry (look out for my post on that circus) and after that I went to take my customary afternoon nap. (which wasn’t really good since my fan burn up).

But I digress.

When I woke up I opened #UberTwitter to greet my followers and was “Forbidden”, I found this odd and so went to the sorry excuse for an app, Twitter for BB, thinking Uber would be back soon. Imagine my shock when the cruel truth was revealed; Twitter had suspended my #goodaz, #hottaz #UberTwitter for failing to adhere to some terms and conditions. There was a mad rush on my timeline as everyone tried to secure the next best thing to satisfy the Twitter munchies. That next best thing would turn out to be SocialScope. There was some mention made of some  obscure apps called “Blaq” and “Seesmic” – I’m not even sure of it’s spelling. Pfffft.

This mad rush would cause the users of SocialScope, who swore they were some kind of elite group, because they used this app, to react strongly. They felt that SocialScope was being made common.

Permit me now to use the native patois.

Look ere socialscope users, oonu doe speshal! Shet oonu rassssss! Get ova it! Wi nat using SocialScope caw we waan to, we using it caw we doe ave a choice! A di next best ting! Suh dis bagga chattin bout how wi a flood socialscope, STFU! Obviously socialscope loves our patronage, dats why dem a prostitute dem product to wi suh! Hssst! #HaveASeat yaw man.

This is my tribute to UberTwitter. An app which fused functionality with aesthetic beauty. UberTwitter is a pleasure to tweet from, the midnight theme was a treat for my eyes. The Labourites no doubt loved the nature theme for it’s rich green appearance and the other themes were all equally good. I’ll miss the beautiful yellow which signified I had a Mention, the gentle and peaceful (not labourite) green which signalled my Direct Messages. Most of all, I’ll miss the little uber icon. The Vancouver Sun alleges three million people are affected by this suspension and murdering of UberTwitter. We miss you Uber! Love live Uber! R.I.P! So until UberSocial is free, I’ll continue to struggle on with the bland and unexciting SocialScope. (side eyes all you enthusiastic SocialScope users).

P.S. This post humbly submits that all other apps, excepting Uber & SocialScope, should be removed from the internet.

8 responses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention R.I.P. UberTwitter‏ « Veritas. -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Socialscope | Video, Torrent, Downloads | Poodlesnatcher

  3. @DaProngs

    Pssh! As it relates to Socialscope, I’m bitter because I waited very long for a invite and persons are getting theirs within a minute of requesting an invite; thus reducing the exclusivity that was Socialscope. Contrary to what you might say, many persons wanted SocialScope and could not get it! The increase in users will contribute to the reduction in performance of the application. As a current user, while I love using Socialscope, it is still in beta and has many flaws. I fear the overload of its servers, and Socialscope is not as fast as UberTwitter. To correct this I assume they’d increase the number of servers (if possible). Lastly on this point, Mi know mi speshal! :p I still am from the old era of Socialscope users. *pops collar*

    I would just like to add though that this has actually given users a chance to experience other applications which is good. I for instance from time to time use, Snaptu and HootSuite.

    P.S. I have nothing against UberTwitter, best application I have experienced for twitter. And It’s not dead….it’ll be back *awaits UberSocial*

    February 19, 2011 at 12:19 am

  4. Velz

    Excellent read! *round of applause* DIS SHAT!
    Expression – 5/5
    Topic – 5/5
    Creativity – 5/5 (U won me over with the patois ute)
    Grammar – 4/5 (I think there were at least 2 errors)

    I am upset at Social Scope losing its exclusivity but I have no problem with others experiencing the ease of use the app provides and the battery life that it uses oh so lightly.

    February 20, 2011 at 1:27 am

    • Thank you for the corrections and I’ll attend to them. I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

      February 20, 2011 at 10:43 am

  5. Karen Lloyd

    Good read. Due to how I don’t currently have a BB though I will not comment any further.

    P.S. Waiting for the Manatt post NOT-SO-PATIENTLY 🙂

    February 21, 2011 at 5:06 pm

  6. Pingback: Thank You ! : 10,000 Hits « Veritas

Leave a Reply

