Best News & Current Affairs Blog (2011 & 2012) and Jamaican Blogger of the Year (2011) at The Jamaica Blog Awards.

Abortion: To Kill? Or Not to Kill?


I recently participated in a forum which sought to assess the issues surrounding the now infamous abortion debate. I was stunned at the responses of my colleagues, who seemed perfectly content with aborting a foetus. I remained silent for much of the discussion; because for me, it was a simple matter of to kill or not to kill and my conscience tells me not to kill. I do not profess to know all the scientific ramifications of the abortion issue but from what little I do grasp, it is safe to conclude that from the moment of conception, there exists a life or, for those of you who will opt to be cynical, a life form and as this life develops it becomes what one would consider a human life. It seems completely logical in my mind that if there exists the unnatural termination of a human life, then it becomes a murderous act. Admittedly, much of this debate hinges on the distinction made between a human as opposed to a human being. The term ‘human’ is defined as “of, relating to or having characteristics of humans”. I will assume that we all agree that a foetus has characteristics of humans. Now, the term ‘human being’ is defined thus “a man, woman, or child, a human- in- being”. Therefore, it simply means a human who has been born. Based on the definitions given, we can agree that the foetus must be considered human and if we agree on that, then we must agree that to terminate that human life constitutes an act of murder. We would have deprived that human from coming into being, surely there must be something wrong with any act that does this ie. abortion.By this point, I am sure many of you are asking “but what of the woman’s right to choose?” And I say, yes, yes indeed, what of the woman’s right to choose? I am very weary of pro choice activists because choice has to have limits or we risk a chaotic society, we risk a society where women will be free to commit murder because it is convenient. Let me be quick to point out that I do support aborting the foetus if it can be proven that it poses a threat to the health of the mother or in exceptional circumstances of rape. However, I do not support abortion as a matter of convenience, an outlet used when we, as human beings, participate in reckless and irresponsible behaviours resulting in a life being created. That life should not be punished for the carelessness of a woman or of a man. It is time we protect life and respect the sacred nature of life. The late Pope John Paul 2nd, is quoted as saying that we risk cultivating a ‘culture of death” if we legalize the heinous practice of abortion. Jamaica is already known as the murder capital of the world, we already have very little regard for human life, let us strive to protect the innocence which exists among us. I believe it was Albert Einstein who stated that “There are two ways to life your life, one is as though nothing is a miracle, the other is as though everything is a miracle”. Let us recognize the miracle that is conception. Sacred scripture tells us ‘Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I haw appointed you a prophet to the nations.” (Jeremiah 1:5). What God has deemed beautiful, let no man destroy.

One response

  1. KristinaNeil

    Very touchy topic indeed. I am more anti than I am pro abortion. In essence tho, a helpless developing youngin really shouldn’t lose their chance at living due to inconvenience, irresponsibility or other lacking on the part of those who engage in sexual intercourse…

    May 17, 2011 at 11:26 am

Leave a Reply

